Movin’ On

It happened suddenly as they said it would. Recommended to apply for Sheltered Accommodation through Brighton Council’s Homemove organisation,it hardly seemed anytime until I was offered a place.

Why the panic? A massive building project threatened the peace at my place in Grand Parade.  For me, too, the stairs posed a problem, carrying carrier bags  up flights of stairs was proving too much.  Then there were the screeching sirens. But I had been happy there and rather dreaded the move.

There was only a week before signing the lease(secured tenancy), and I had to almost simultaneously arrange to move and organise a removal van, carpeting and window covering-initially white net. The carpet had to be down before the belongings moved in.

Luckily Mike Stimpson Properties whose flat I had been renting, recommended a removal company, who did everything.  All I had to do, was to pack my things. As most of it is in plastic tubs, this was fairly easy. I had some help from a mate; and my sister performed a miracle when I was stood in a pile of goods at the new address.

The flat itself is one bedroomed purpose built with a wet room and kitchen. It overlooks a row of semis and is set back from (another) busy main road.

It is rented from the Southern Housing Group.

I also had to liaise with the Housing Benefit Office . There was some panic while doing this.  It was a simple job for them, but almost too much for my nervous disposition.  Luckily, a Floating Support officer who came from Brighton Housing Trust was most helpful and soothed me over the difficult and anxious time.

I was made most welcome by the care team at the apartments, and look forward to a long stay-Anyone who is proposing to move into sheltered accommodation is advised to get all the things you need to do lined up to be ready for the great event.  written in haste.

John G.Scott

 

 

 

forward to a long stay.

About chris and gordon's private rented sector blog

we are two people living in Brighton who have both been through the 'hostel' system. I (Chris) have been street homeless, I am currently a recovering alcoholic living in a privately rented flat. I (Gordon) have a degree of media studies from University of Westminster. I've had many psychological problems, but am now nearly recovered. I live on my own in a privately rented flat. Disclaimer Any information including photography given in PRS Blog is the responsibility of Chris and Gordon's blog and may not be published elsewhere except with their permission and they will try and use names and pictures of people only with their permission. Contentious statements will be kept to a minimum and hope that libellous statements aren't made. The blog is published with good intent and it is hoped to publish material which will be constructive and of benefit to others who may use the service.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

