The Recovery Course

Brighton Recovery College

 

 

It has been suggested that I blog about my experiences on coping with Bi Polar disorder at Brighton Recovery College.

This is part of a series of courses designed to aid mental health recovery. I have for a long time hoped that there would be a course designed to help with a problem I’ve had for many years.

There is still a stigma attached to mental illness. However, Brighton must lead the way in the   facility of mental health care and are leaders in the field.

I went to consolidate my course and filled out some forms related to my condition.

I mentioned a Mindfulness programme and was told I could start that day in two hours . As anyone who has been early for an appointment and has to kill time- knows –it can be very expensive. I regretted not joining in, but vowed to take the next available course.

Bi Polar disorder is loosely defined as uncontrolled mood swings, from manic at the ‘top’ of the scale to depression at the bottom. Mood changes are often reflected in behavioural

Changes being High at the top end of the scale (being able to do anything at once); to Depression-thoughts of suicide.

 

A month later, here I am again at BHT somewhat chastened by my experiences at the Recovery College. It was great!  I can’t go into details because of the confidentiality clause involved. Suffice to say it was a positive and enjoyable experience. Particularly

good were the mixed ages of the group.

 

The tutorship was thorough. For some of the time we were split into groups of two or three and asked to write about our experiences e.g. what we could do towards helping ourselves out of depression or mania.

 

 

The Brunswick Festival

 

Last year but one, through Business Action on Homelessness programme, I was referred to a BHT’s First Base to help out on a volunteer project creating a small Festival at The Quaker Meeting House in Ship Street called ‘Base Fest’. This was followed by helping with The Brunswick Festival in August and another Base Fest at Christmas.

We are now embarking on the next Brunswick Festival. I have been able to continue this and am happily engaged helping out.

The Festival is taking place on 20-21st August at Brunswick Square and promises to be a fun day. I have been helping create life size  puppets and paint large terracotta plant pots to go towards making Brunswick Festival 35 years old this year a huge success.

Volunteers are needed, so if you would like to take part in this exciting Festival contact me on jgs75@outlook.com.

Loud Cheers, Gordon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About chris and gordon's private rented sector blog

we are two people living in Brighton who have both been through the 'hostel' system. I (Chris) have been street homeless, I am currently a recovering alcoholic living in a privately rented flat. I (Gordon) have a degree of media studies from University of Westminster. I've had many psychological problems, but am now nearly recovered. I live on my own in a privately rented flat. Disclaimer Any information including photography given in PRS Blog is the responsibility of Chris and Gordon's blog and may not be published elsewhere except with their permission and they will try and use names and pictures of people only with their permission. Contentious statements will be kept to a minimum and hope that libellous statements aren't made. The blog is published with good intent and it is hoped to publish material which will be constructive and of benefit to others who may use the service.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

